11/01/2019

Reviews

Reviews of poetry by D.L. Lang

Check out what people are saying online about my books!

Read customer reviews below!

(Agree? Disagree? Write your own reviews.)

Poet Loiterer

Poems that embrace spoken-word rhythms and hippie principles, inspired by the author’s love of music and nature, her peace activism, and her gratitude for Jewish community.

Kirkus Reviews 

Midnight Strike

Lang’s latest collection of poetry is a cri de coeur on the injustices of contemporary life. Lang’s bold, erudite language will empower and uplift readers: “Until all women are safe from violence, so that a woman can exist in any space without fear, we march!” Such pieces leap off the page and demand to be read aloud to release their crackling energy. Skeptics who deem protest-oriented verse to be ineffective or outmoded will struggle with most of Lang’s writing, but for others, it will be a persuasive call to action. A forthright, energizing collection.  

Kirkus Reviews

Dragonfly Tomorrows and Dog-Eared Yesterday

An ingenious visionary and virtuous human moral-compass, Lang makes writing poetry seem effortless, hypnotizing us with fantasy-like analogies that cleverly unravel meaningful and philosophical multi-layered themes. Each theme underlines and mirrors many different colors and faces of life and humanity.

Realistic Poetry International

Armor Against the Dawn

As a collection of poems spanning pivotal subjects, Armor Against the Dawn is a complex representation of the poet’s passionate views.
 The collection is layered with expressive thought and candid revelations of the poet’s position on multiple current day social events.  Insightful, as well as bold, the collection is infused with an underlying theme of a continual searching for answers, for understanding, and for resolution.  

Realistic Poetry International

Tea & Sprockets

Kindle Fire Department Book of the Day 3/21/2013

Tea & Sprockets: A Modern American Poetry Book is a soulful collection of over a hundred poems that will make you laugh, make you think, and leave you breathless. If you’re a lifelong fan of poetry or just looking for a good place to get started, this book is for you!

Amazon:

1.
Karen Doering “Parent’s Little Black Book” reviewed Tea & Sprockets: A Modern American Poetry Book
2 of 2 people found the following helpful
 Tea & Sprockets (Poetic Nonsense) by D. L. Lang January 17, 2013
Poetry is my guilty little pleasure. It is what I read when I am feeling sad and want to wallow in my self-pity. It is also what I read when life is so good it just can’t get any better and I want to be sure to enjoy the moment. Poetry keeps me sane. That being said, I don’t consider my knowledge of poetry to be such that I would make a practice of reviewing it. But sometimes something comes along that I like so much I feel I just have to share. But let it be known that I bring no credentials to the table when I write a review of a poetry book. All I bring is my love of poetry and my enjoyment of the author’s work.In this case, D. L. Lang’s collection of poem “Tea & Sprockets” is one of those poetry books that caught my interest. The poems are robust, well crafted and pull the reader into the web of the author’s imagination and emotion all the while leaving room for the reader to interpret to suit.It would be hard to choose a favorite in a collection so varied but I have to say that I have a few. Those concerning losses especially spoke to me but there were many others that explored the joy of life that were just as moving. All in all I would say there is something for everyone and every mood in this collection and I recommend you download a copy, settle back with a nice beverage and enter into the world of the author’s imagination.Karen Bryant Doering,
Parents’ Little Black Book
MistBlueEeyore@gmail.comShow Less
2.
Gary P. Thaller “gershon” reviewed Tea & Sprockets: A Modern American Poetry Book
2 of 2 people found the following helpful
 Awesome poems! February 12, 2013

Dinah said the thoughts in her poems echoed throughout her soul until finding their way into this book. By the end, they were echoing throughout my soul. Listen to the video, then get the book even if you do not usually read poetry.

3.
2 of 2 people found the following helpful
 Tea & Sprockets – Review February 24, 2013
D.L. Lang writes with clarity, wit and meaning. Totally worth the price of admission, just don’t let the little Kindle light keep you up at night reading it.
4.
4 of 4 people found the following helpful
 Loved the poems!! March 13, 2013
Diana is an amazing poet. I love all the poems in this book. My favorite one is,ShortHow can it be that I live in pain,
When all around I see only gain,
How can it be that I long for someone,
When I am surrounded by everyone?
How can it be that magic fades?
Or is it just emotions’ shades?If you love poems, you will love this book. Eagerly waiting for more poem books from her!!Show Less
5.
3 of 3 people found the following helpful
 Tea & Sprockets March 21, 2013
I don’t usually read poetry because some of it is just too wordy and vague. That is not true of this book of poetry!The poems are very direct, you do not have to guess what the meaning is. But yet, they are descriptive and well written.
6.
Amy Gioletti reviewed Tea & Sprockets: Poetic Nonsense
3 of 3 people found the following helpful
 Tea and Sprockets is a Wonderful Read March 23, 2013
Tea and Sprockets is honest. The poems speak of isolation, of feeling different from one’s peers, of living in a time of perpetual war. However, Tea and Sprockets also speaks of enduring love, hope and a longing for peace within the poet and for the entire world. Some of my favorites (so far) are Roman Clock, Naive Observations of a Situational Pacifist, Exist, The Rat Race, and Chameleon. I’ve been taking this book with me wherever I go. Thank you for giving your work to the world, D.L. Lang. That, itself, is a great act of peace.Show Less
7.
Helen C. Page “Duncreavy” reviewed Tea & Sprockets: A Modern American Poetry Book
1 of 1 people found the following helpful
 I am reminded of Billy Collins as I read these poems April 10, 2013
Finding the magic in the every day. A lovely collection full of surprises and joys. I highly recommend this collection.

Abundant Sparks

Amazon:

1.
Eric Michael Author Passive Income for Life and Pimp My Kindle Book reviewed Abundant Sparks: A Contemporary Poetry Collection
1 of 1 people found the following helpful
 A Collection of Poetry that Shows of the Poets Talents June 28, 2013
I found this collection of poetry to be exceptional in its diversity and intensity. The selection of poems gives the reader an excellent feel for this budding star poet’s abilities in writing and observation. The book also shows that the poet has a good feel for her readers, in the order that the poetry was presented. Overall, the best book of poetry that I have read in quite some time.
2.
5 of 5 people found the following helpful
 A Contemporary Poetry Collection May 30, 2013
Purchased this poetry book on a whim and grateful that I did. I found many of the spiritual pieces talking to me and I giggled at more than a few of the silly pieces. With over 60 poems and varied themes there is something for everyone in this collection.
3.
Helen C. Page “Duncreavy” reviewed Abundant Sparks: A Contemporary Poetry Collection
5 of 5 people found the following helpful
 Another beautiful collection from this gifted poet May 29, 2013
Lang’s facility with language never ceases to astonish me. And she does it again in this new collection. If you want an example, read the first poem, Penguin’s Prayer. A must read.
4.
5 of 5 people found the following helpful
 Abundant Sparks of Brilliance! May 29, 2013
From deeply (and universally) personal to powerfully observant, Diana Lang is a brilliant poetess. She moves from enchanting phrases, such as “Seeking wisdom. I am a Jew. Brownies burning in the oven” and “In the river, rowers from the nearest educational palace.”To observing modern life: Sleep is a luxury….
Electric suns destroying rhythms here since before time””Manufactured neon bulbs flickering in their
Inconsistent rhythms like an erratic heartbeat…””The ever present ticking of the silver encrusted pocket watch
Hanging from the stranger’s trench coat, shakes me from my dream.”To images of what life could be:
“The earth no longer quakes” and you feel the earth quaking in fear.Her poem “Silver Winged Predators” beautifully, and very powerfully, presents life as a strengthening, learning experience.

 

Her own heartfelt losses resonate.
“And now–your memory in my head three years after,
Awake my soul from this bad dream!
That I might hear your soulful strings serenading strangers in the symphony.
That we might both have mead it out alive!

“Floetry” charmingly etches the soul of a poet.

“If it Bleeds, It Leads!” holds the anguish of too many who have experienced, up front and personal, the atrocities of our world.

Then there are the breaks we all need, like “Silly Purple Chrome Poem,” five lines that lead to a smile.

The goosebumps of powerful distillations tune the reader at the book’s beginning with poetry that appears to be the author’s most recent verse.

D.L. (Diana) Lang is a name to note and remember. Highly recommended reading.Show Less

5.
2 of 2 people found the following helpful
 Eclectic Excellence May 22, 2013

This eclectic collection of about 70 poems from poet D.L. Lang embodies the spirit of American poetry–diverse and without rules.While “Penguin’s Prayer” was replete with alliteration, few other of Lang’s works used that theme.I got through about four verses of “Snarkadelic Word Smith Awaits the Penguin Whisperer” and it reminded me *strongly* of one of my favorite poets in high school. That was a long time ago, and I had to concentrate and try to remember the words. Then, it came to me. Karl Shapiro’s “Auto Wreck.””You” was in iambic pentameter. That was refreshingly traditional, but with a twist.

“Perpetually 26” hints at haunting memories of Lang’s native Oklahoma, lamenting the loss of a good friend

“The Harder We Fall” recounts a bitter ending of a friendship that languishes without mutual respect. That was painful to read. Clearly the poet does not wish to return to that space.

While “The Wall Between Us” elicits a perpetual turmoil of closeness, “Today” radiates her complete satisfaction with the love in her life.

“Fired” is totally Ralph Ginzburg. Short, but one of my favorites

You probably don’t know D.L. Lang; I don’t know her either. Or do I? After reading this outstanding collection of original works, I feel that in a strong sense, I do. I believe you will too, and you’ll find your time reading Abundant Sparks joyfully well spent.Show Less

%d bloggers like this: